Colbert County Tourism & Convention Bureau


Helen Keller Home

300 N. Commons, West
Tuscumbia, AL 35674
(256) 383-4066
Open: Mon – Sat, 8:30 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Admission Charged

The dramatic life and times of the “first lady of courage” Helen Keller are preserved at her birthplace and childhood home, Ivy Green. The plantation home and birthplace cottage dating back to the 1820s are listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Original furnishings are on display throughout the home and museum, highlighted by hundreds of Miss Keller’s personal mementos, books, and gifts from her lifetime of travel and lectures for the betterment of the world’s blind and deafblind.

The grounds are remarkably kept by a group of Master Gardeners. Plantings include those that Helen Keller wrote about and talked about in her various books – roses, honeysuckle, daffodils, Ivy, magnolia, figs, assorted herbs.

The plantation home may be toured in its entirety and the birthplace cottage may be toured from the doorways as can the dependency buildings – cook’s bedroom and kitchen, ice house. While there, be sure to walk the grounds to see the various gifts presented to the home from many countries around the world. The original well pump where Miss Keller first spoke the word “w a t e r” is a great spot for that perfect photo. A gift shop provides choices of books and other articles relating to Helen Keller.

The Miracle Worker Play

At Ivy Green, Home Helen Keller
Presented in an outdoor theatre on the grounds each year in June/July
2018 dates are July 8, 9, 15, 16, 22, 23, 29, 30 and July 6, 7, 13, 14.
On the evenings of the Play, home opens at 6:30 p.m. for a walk-through tour; Play begins promptly at 8 p.m.
Admission Charged

Every summer, people from around the world come to Tuscumbia to watch William Gibson’s play, “The Miracle Worker” in the outdoor theatre on the grounds of Ivy Green, the home of Helen Keller. The inspiring play dramatizes the efforts of Anne Sullivan to open the world of communication to her deaf and blind student Helen Keller.

The play is Alabama’s “Official Outdoor Drama” and has been recognized numerous times by the Southeast Tourism Society as a Top 20 Event in the Southeast and by the American Bus Association as a Top 100 Event in the United States.

The Miracle Worker Play runs six weeks each summer on Friday and Saturday evenings in June and July. Purchase your tickets by calling the Helen Keller Home at (256) 383-4066.

Belle Mont Mansion

1569 Cook Lane
Tuscumbia, AL 35674
(256) 381-5052
Open: Wed – Sat, 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Admission Charged

Belle Mont Mansion is one of Alabama’s most distinguished Federal period homes. Built in 1828 for Dr. Alexander Mitchell, a physician and planter, the home is distinguished by its Jeffersonian-Palladian architecture as favored by Thomas Jefferson in the building of his own home Monticello. The style is marked by a tall central pavilion, flanked by matching, single-story wings which embrace a rear courtyard. The approach through farmlands to the home’s hilltop setting adds a dimension of authenticity to a visit to Belle Mont where the story of the imposing brick house and its inhabitants through nearly 200 years may be experienced. Period furnishings from across the region are displayed and original decorative arts and architectural features are preserved. Belle Mont Mansion is one of only five house museums owned by the State of Alabama, Alabama Historical Commission. It is operated by a local support group, the Colbert County Historical Landmarks Foundation.

Spring Park

South Main Street
Tuscumbia, AL 35674
(256) 389-1357
Open Year Round, daylight – 10 p.m.

Well landscaped Spring Park is used daily by residents and visitors who come to Tuscumbia to enjoy the quaintness of the town, shopping, and the beautiful park and its amenities. It offers a pleasant and relaxing place to enjoy a family picnic, including playground equipment.

Several amusements provide an excellent venue for young children to enjoy a roller coaster, carousel and narrow gauge train that runs through the park (nominal fee for amusements).

The park offers a strikingly beautiful waterfall that stretches 80 feet wide and 48 feet tall. Cold water splashes over the sandstone rocks through the falls and a lovely Indian statue stands 12 feet tall paying tribute to the American Indians who were relocated through this location to Oklahoma during the 1830s along the Trail of Tears. A breathtaking water show, choreographed to lights and music, is presented most nights at dusk in the lake that is in the park. Water shoots about 150 feet into the area and the waters dance to the music.

Alabama Music Hall of Fame

617 U.S. Highway 72 W
Tuscumbia, AL 35674
Open 9 a.m. – 5 p.m., Tuesday – Saturday; Closed Sunday and Monday
Admission Charged

In 1990, the Alabama Music Hall of Fame opened to the public for tours. Exhibits tout the outstanding accomplishments of music achiever from throughout the state of Alabama. “Father of the Blues” W.C. Handy, “Father of Rock and Roll” Sam Phillips, “Father of Country Music” Jimmy Rogers, “Father of Muscle Shoals Music” Rick Hall, “Queen of the Blues” Dinah Washington, “Queen of Gospel Music Vestal Goodman, “Legend of Country Music” Hank Williams, and “First Lady of Country Music” Tammy Wynette, are among the prestigious inductees. You’ll experience the story of the state’s contribution to our music heritage through artifacts, photographs and text panes while listening to the varied sounds of Alabama’s music. This museum presents exhibits on more than 1,000 stars, representing all styles of America’s music. A gift shop has an excellent selection of music-related items.

W. C. Handy Home

620 W. College St.
Florence, AL 35630
(256) 760-6434
Open 10 a.m. – 4 p.m., Tuesday – Saturday; Closed Sunday and Monday
Admission Charged

William Christopher Handy was born in a small, log cabin in Florence, Alabama on November 16, 1973. Handy became famous for his blue compositions such as “Memphis Blues” & “St. Louis Blues”. He was a musician, and conductor, and author.

The museum houses a collection of memorabilia, musical instruments, personal papers and original sheet music. His famous trumpet and personal piano are just a few of the items on display.

Handy died in New York in 1958. His hometown, Florence, honors him with a week-long W. C. Handy Music Festival every July

FAME Recording Studio

603 E. Avalon Ave.
Muscle Shoals, AL 35661
(256) 381-0801
Open for tours Monday – Friday, 9 – 10 a.m. and 4 – 5 p.m.; Saturday, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m.
Admission Charged

FAME was established in 1959, the first successful, professional recording studio in Alabama. Arthur Alexander’s 1961 hit, “You Better Move On,” cut here, launched the famous Muscle Shoals Sound. The internationally acclaimed documentary, “Muscle Shoals” released in 2013, told the story of FAME and its founder, Rick Hall. Releases from FAME have sold over 350 million copies worldwide.

Muscle Shoals Sound (first location)

Muscle Shoals Sound Studio

3614 Jackson Highway
Sheffield, AL 35660
(256) 978-5151
Open for tours daily, 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Admission Charged

Established in 1969 by a group of former session musicians, this was the location where the Rolling Stones, Cher, Bob Segar, Rod Stewart, Paul Simon, the Staples Singers, Lynyrd Skynyrd, and many others created some of the most popular hits of the 1970s.

Cypress Moon Productions (2nd location of Muscle Shoals Sound)

Cypress Moon Studio

1000 Alabama Avenue
Sheffield, AL 35660
(256) 335-6961
Open for tours: Mon – Fri, 10 a.m. – 3 p.m.; Sat, 11 a.m. – 3 p.m.
Admission Charged

Muscle Shoals Sound Studio moved here in 1978. For over 25 years, the “Swampers” continued to record hits after moving from their Jackson Highway location. Recording artists included Bob Seger, Bob Dylan, John Prine, Julian Lennon, Glenn Frey of the Eagles, Jimmy Buffett and countless others. In 2005, this complex was purchased by Tonya Holley and was renamed Cypress Moon Studios.

Wishbone Recording Studio

1920 Webster Street
Muscle Shoals, AL 35661
Tours By Appointment

Wishbone Studios was established in 1976 and is one of only two “purpose built” recording studios in Muscle Shoals. Purchased in early 2017 by hit songwriter and producer Billy Lawson, Wishbone is a full time working studio, open for visitors year round, along with Fame Studios and Muscle Shoals Sound Studios, Wishbone played a major role in the recording boom of the seventies and eighties, and has remained home to many successful songwriters and musicians.

Artists recorded at Wishbone Studios include: Roy Orbison, Charlie Daniels, Waylon Jennings, Wayne Newton, Hank Williams Jr, John Kay, Shenandoah, Peter Noone, and HOT.

A Billboard Magazine Top Five Record of the year in 1977, “Angel In Your Arms” by HOT, was written, produced and recorded at Wishbone. Seven-time CMA Country Musician of the Year, Mac McAnally spent his early years here, honing his craft. Billy Lawson’s own success with Trace Adkins, Darryl Worley, Sammy Kershaw, Lone Star and more ensure a constant flow of new projects into Wishbone.

LaGrange College Site Park

1491 LaGrange College Rd.
Leighton, AL 35646
(256) 446-9324
Park is open daily. Welcome Center – Sun, 1 – 4 p.m.
Free, donations welcomed

Established in 1830 as Alabama’s first college, LaGrange became known as the “West Point of the South.” During the War Between the States in 1863, the college was destroyed by Union forces.

This site now boasts a pioneer village to include many buildings from the early era of LaGrange, including several log structures, wedding chapel, Bed and Breakfast Inn, Country Store, kitchen, out buildings and picnic facilities. These facilities are rented for special events and several festivals are held at the site each year.

Ritz Theatre

111 West 3rd St.
Sheffield, AL 35660
(256) 383-0533
Open for community theatre and special events as posted on website

Built in 1927, this former silent movie house was renovated in 1985, preserving the original 1930’s art deco interior. The theatre is now home to a vibrant community, performing arts program. Production and film calendar are available on the website.

Tuscumbia Railway Depot

204 West 5th St.
Tuscumbia, AL 35674
(256) 389-1357
Open: Tues – Fri, 9 a.m. – 4 p.m.; Sat, 10 a.m. – 3p.m.
Admission Charged

This 1888 restored passenger depot was utilized by both the Memphis and Charleston and Southern Railway companies. This is the same depot where Annie Sullivan and Helen Keller utilized as they traveled from Boston to Tuscumbia through the years after Helen left Tuscumbia to be taught at Perkins Institute in Boston. Today, it is a museum dedicated to rail memorabilia and the nearby roundhouse is utilized as an event venue.

Rattlesnake Saloon

1292 Mt. Mills Rd.
Tuscumbia, AL 35674
(256) 370-7220
Open: Feb through Nov, 11 a.m. – 10 p.m. (Thurs, Fri, Sat); Open Sun afternoon seasonally

The “watering hole under the rock” is a popular destination that offers a unique dining experience under a Native American rock bluff shelter. The menu includes a variety of unique burgers and sandwiches. The Rustler Burger is listed as one of the “100 Dishes to Eat in Alabama Before You Die”. The Alabama Cattlemen’s Association has given the burger the Top 2 burger in the state of Alabama.

Coon Dog Cemetery

4945 Coondog Cemetery Road
Cherokee, AL 35616
(256) 383-0783
Open daily, year round, daylight hours

On Labor Day in 1937 Key Underwood buried his faithful coon hound, Troop, at the edge of the forest of Freedom Hills in NW Alabama. Following this burial, many of Underwood’s friends also needed a burial ground for their favored hunting dogs and so each chose a spot, close to that first grave, and so it went. Today, over 300 coon dogs have been laid to rest in this quiet, scenic, natural area. Unique headstones and epitaphs pay tribute to man’s best friend. It is said to be the only cemetery of its kind in the world.

This cemetery is used only for authentic coon dogs and there is a fee and procedures for burying a dog. Go to to learn about burials.

Annually, each Labor Day, a festival is held to honor those buried there and coon dogs in general. There is music and dancing, food, a liar’s contest, and lots of fun. The event begins mid-morning and is over about 4 p.m.

Old Railroad Bridge

2100 Ashe Blvd.
Sheffield, AL 35660
(256) 383-0783
Access behind the Radisson Inn, located on Hatch Blvd., Sheffield, from Ashe Blvd.

This pedestrian only bridge is 1580 feet long and 14 feet high and stretches from the south side of Pickwick Lake out into the river. The original pier is still there, circa 1832. The original bridge opened in 1839 as a toll bridge with trains crossing on the upper deck and wagons, pedestrians and livestock crossed over the bottom. The original bridge was burned on April 16, 1862 during the Civil War by President Abraham Lincoln’s brother in law who was a Confederate General. The superstructure was rebuilt in 1903 and still stands. Today, it is used by pedestrians who want to just “take a walk” or who want to enjoy the scenic beauty of the lake or by those attending an event on the old bridge.

Wilson Lock and Dam

3985 Reservation Rd.
Muscle Shoals, AL 35661
(256) 764-5223

Wilson Dam boasts one of the highest single-lift locks in the world. Construction on the dam began during World War I. It first began as a munitions plant to support the War effort. About 100,000 workers were sent in by the U.S. government to build these facilities and planned, residential housing was built to accommodate the people moving in. When the war ended, the facilities were about to be completed but not a single munition had been manufactured at the facilities.

Automobile tycoon Henry Ford and the electric light inventor Thomas Jefferson came to the area, proposing to the U.S. Congress to build a city 75 miles long as an industrial site. They offered $5 million for the site which Congress refused. By 1933, Congress had created the Tennessee Valley Authority thus providing much needed electricity for the entire Tennessee Valley. Today, many boats and barges lock through the dam that is one of seven along the TVA system of lakes.

Natchez Trace Parkway

Stretches 444 miles from Natchez, Mississippi through 33 miles of Alabama and on to Nashville, Tennessee
(800) 305-7417

This beautiful All American Road and National Scenic Byway is a National Park connecting three states and many historic sites. In Alabama, the Colbert Ferry site at Milepost 327 offers a bicycle only campground, restrooms, picnic area, boat launch, fishing, swimming, hiking, and a bounty of green space for walkers.

Indian Mound and Museum

1028 S. Court St.
Florence, AL 35630
(256) 760-6427
Open: Tues – Sat, 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Admission Charged

This mid-Woodland period mound would have been constructed from 100 B.C. to around 300 A.D. – long before the Cherokee, Chickasaw and Creek nations inhabited the area.

The 42 foot high quadrilateral mound has a summit measuring 145 x 94 feet. Early settlers in the region found steps on the east side and evidence that the mound had been enclosed by a semi-circular earthen wall.

The museum at the base of the mound contains American Indian artifacts dating back over 12,000 years, arranged in chronological order from Paleo to historic periods.

Frank Lloyd Wright (Rosenbaum House)

601 Riverview Dr.
Florence, AL 35630
(256) 718-5050
Admission Charged
Open Tues – Sat, 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.; Sun, 1 p.m. – 4 p.m.

The only Wright-designed house in Alabama, it was built in 1939-40 for Stanley and Mildred Rosenbaum who were the sole owners of the house until 1999 when the city of Florence acquired it.

Constructed of cypress, glass and brick, the house has all the hallmarks of Wright’s Usonian design – flat, multi-level roofs, cantilevered eaves and carports, flowing space, use of natural materials and expanses of glass. The house has many pieces of the original Wright designed furniture. Wright designed an addition to the house in 1948 adding two wings.

Rock of Ages (Trail)

Historic Churches of Colbert County
Download brochure from this site
(256) 383-0783

The Rock of Ages Trail showcases a collection of cherished churches which are at least 100 years old, providing a glimpse into the spiritual fabric of Colbert County’s early settlement. Strong and righteous men and women founded their churches and built their houses of workshop. Today, their testimony is evident in stone, brick, mortar, and simple clapboard, bearing witness to faith and fortitude. These historic churches are still in use for worship.

We invite you to reflect on the past and to seek quiet inspiration as you tour the historic churches of Colbert County, Alabama.